Collision with large nonrectangular objects

bulboka

Good morning everyone!

I'm new to Phaser and need a piece of advise badly.

I've got a character in a shape of a circle of a very small radius, practically a dot. I need to handle collisions between my character and obstacles. Obstacles can be much larger than the character. And obstacles can be nonrectangular — diamond-shaped for example. I dont need to handle friction or bouncing, just overlap. I want to generate obstacles dynamically, as the character constantly moves upwards. And maybe animate them a bit: like pulsing brightness or something.

I've been exploring Phaser features for a while and I think I have a couple of possible decisions now. But I realy dont know which (or maybe none) of them are realy suitable.

1 Create an empty tilemap as high as I want my level to be. Move the character upwards and follow it with a camera. Fill tilemap with tiles dinamically and collide the character with the tilemap. If tile size is small, collisions with diamond-shaped obstacles will be accurate enough. But animating obstacles seems to be impossible.

2 Create a collision Bitmapdata with width and height respective to screen sizes. Generate obstacles as Sprites (or Groups of Sprites) and move them from the top of the screen to the bottom. Probably, I should use pooling for it. For every generated obstacle create a collision mask Sprite (or Group) of apropriate color. Every frame clear the collision Bitmapdata, render mask Sprite to collision Bitmapdata with draw method and check the color under the character to handle the overlap. This approach gives much more control over obstacles transform and animation but I have doubts about performance.