Thoughts about encryption..

Ankhranum

Hey guys!

I'm quite new on this forum, but I'm learning HTML5 since December. I'm not new in game-development as I learned .net and the fundementals of 3D, 3D Maths, 2D and 2D maths. I used unity and a basic language for DirectX, but I still prefer HTML5. I'm planning to focus on Directx and XNA in the future so I can finish my software idea for a game maker for HTML5. But first things first.

I've kept myself busy from the first of June till now with creating an engine for HTML5. Don't get me wrong with this, I'm not a designer at all but a loyal programmer. Having acces to everything and keeping things accesible is what is important thing to me. And no limits, which is even the most important for me. So far, no engine gave me that feeling and I felt it was time I had to create my own one.

The results are great and everything goes well, but one mind keeps bugging me. My engine will be mostlikely not very famous, so no-one knows it. I don't really know what do with it once it's completely finished. I could put it online so other developpers can use it if they like it, is quite the best option, but I'm a bit worried about the safety of putting it online. I'm a bit afraid someone will steal it or sell it if they get the chance to, encryption is not possible, or maybe it is, but it won't have effect becuase you can decrypt it no problem. What do you think about publishing? Am I worrying to much? Any ideas about Copyright or such a thing?

I really like to hear your minds about this!

Greets

Ankh

I don't want to sound dismissive, but unless your engine is freaking incredible it doesn't really have any commercial worth on its own, as there are simply so many excellent free ones out there. So I personally wouldn't worry about encrypting it or anything. More valuable would be any games you create with it imho.