[WIP] Flight Sim - "Tunnan and Friends"

Photonfrog

Play it at: http://photonfrog.com/tunnan/latest/client.html

This is a hobby project I have been running for about two years now. It is a WebGL client using the goo engine for rendering and ammo.js for trimesh physics. The aerodynamics and game loop is written from scratch in JavaScript. In this particular version the UI is a dom layout with some css styling.

Screenies:

post-13289-0-95801900-1424685173_thumb.jpost-13289-0-08422200-1424685226_thumb.jpost-13289-0-42291500-1424685269_thumb.jpost-13289-0-54019400-1424685199_thumb.j

If you need some help figuring out how to fly you can glimpse some of the control mechanics from this video: 

• 2 weeks later...

http://photonfrog.com/tunnan/latest/client.html

A new version with a large volume of changes is now available.

Major points:

* New UI system. Rendered using Canvas2D as a texture in 3D space.

* New particle system (handles stretching for bullet trail effects, also rather WIP)

* Removed old content (needs to be rebuilt using new data pipeline)

* Switched to only supporting the F-14 Tomcat

* Added several UI systems, radar, light configuration, hud brightness controls and more.

* Removed all Dom rendered UI

TunnanTomcat.jpg

Previous version is archived for reference at http://photonfrog.com/tunnan/latest/client.html

And thanks for the feedback so far  :-)

• 2 weeks later...

Spent some more time fixing this up a bit. 

Visually most noticeable is the new Aircraft Carrier. I spent a week or so of evenings modelling and texturing this version of USS Enterprise CVN 65. Which has some history such as figuring in some relatively well known movie about F-14 pilots. I have also added quite a chunk of sound design, stretching my ability to use the WebAudioAPI for getting the sounds in place. Most of these sounds and music snippets are lazily loaded when the game client wants to play them but I think they still load pretty quickly.