[WIP] Cyberlympics Racing

marcgfx

this is a project I've been working on for quite a few years. It's changed drastically over time. I originally wanted to simply see what is possible with html5. I still had a lot of graphics from a previous unfinished project, so it was a pretty easy start. I wanted to make an AI-battle thing, where coders could compete with little tanks. The whole game was built with html and javascript, using soundmanager2 for sound. It worked quite well, but there was not much interest. So I decided to make it into a racing game... I guess its something between micro-machines and mario-kart.

Tech:

I'm no longer building complex div structures, instead I am using WebGL. Soundmanager2 has been replaced by WebAudio.

Multiplayer:

The game could support up to 8 local players, but who has that many input devices.... Currently It's limited to 4, but will only work sensibly on NKR keyboards or with gamepads.

I've not dived into networking yet, so Websockets and Node.js are also very interesting for me. I'm frequently wondering if it's even possible as the game is very fast and small changes could have quite an effect. If anyone has any cool solutions for network-multiplayer I would gladly hear them.

Issues:

My main problems at the moment are the UI, performance, monetising, too many ideas and finding enough time. The UI is difficult, as I want to support keyboard/mouse/gamepad/touch, my current solution is much too busy and I hate it. Performance is an issue, because my current AI uses way too many resources and my shaders seem to be too complex. I have taken steps to mitigate this but on some devices there will be stuttering. 

Link:

http://data.cyberlympics.com/html/nav.html

141209screen.jpg

Great work you have done.  I really dig this. The art is really cool, maybe add more detail to the road.