Frameworks Vs Game Engines

Pooya72

im new to the world of html5 canvas and online game developing, and at the beginning im facing with an important question. which way to create games ? 

using engines (specially unity, construct2 and Game maker) or frameworks (specially Phaser).

as i said above im new to Html5 game develop but as a web developer since 5 years ago i familiar with coding itself.

I've not seen so many comparison topics (between frameworks and engines) so please post your experiences and some details about yourself to help Game developers all over the world not just me .

Thx

I've not seen so many comparison topics (between frameworks and engines) 

There's industry-wide confusion about the difference between a "framework" and an "engine."

Some people think they're different, others think they're the same.

Ultimately it doesn't matter.

All you need to know is: these are all things that let you make games.

How do you like to make games?

If you like making them with a drag-and-drop UI, you'll like Unity, Construct2 and Game Maker.

If you like making them from pure code, you'll like Phaser.

From your list of "things with which to make games", you should know that Unity is not an HTML5 technology.

If you're want to make games for mobile and desktop, and don't care about the web, use Unity.

If you want to target the web, use one of the HTML5 things: Phaser, Construct2 or Game Maker.

Their features are all pretty comparable and they're all really good, so just use whichever one best suits your development style.

You don't have be too picky; just think of it like shopping for a new pair of shoes.

Hey, you're on the Phaser forum, so you might as well go for Phaser!

In my understanding engine is something more than framework... It is existing construction, where framework is just a blueprint. 

My short list of pros and cons:

Engines:

Pros:

• you can get up and running really fast