Readjust Collision boxes.

narutobilbao

Hello everyone. I'm new to Phaser, and believe it or not, the first thing I decided to do, was a 2D fighting game. 

first of all, i'm spanish, so excuse me for my english.

I thought it would be an awesome experience, but the real thing is that I've got so many problems with it that I can't do nearly anything. 

I'm using Phaser for programming it.

One of my mayor problems are the collisions. I use spritesheets for the characters, and like in many fighting games, some sprites are smaller than others. (the one for crouching is smaller than the Idle one).

the problem is, that when I want to crouch by pressing a key, the sprite makes it's animation, but the collision box does not adjust the sprite height.

at the moment, i've got this:

In a "preloader.js" file, with many other different resources, I've got this line.

this.load.spritesheet('herbal', 'imagenes/spriteSheetHerbal.png', 202, 222);

In it, I'm sending a width (202) and a height (222) value for every sprite in the spritesheet. I KNOW that in this way, my game does not adjust the width or height like it should (because it takes the width and height for every sprite)

My first question here is:

1- Is there any other way for loading spritesheets without telling an exact width or height?

I'm using the arcade physics for the game. I'm using them because it's the only physics system i understand a little bit from the 3 of them. So, my second question is:

2- For a fighting game... which physics system should I use? NINJA, P2 or ARCADE? What are the first 2 for? (I really have no clue of them. I've read some information, but still don't understand).

In another script called "batalla.js", I make the following:

this.jugador=this.add.sprite(this.world.width - 300, this.world.height - 115, 'herbal');

this.jugador.anchor.setTo(.5, .5);

this.physics.enable(this.jugador, Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);

this.jugador.scale.x= 1;