What game engine/workflow is recommended for cross platform HTML 5 game development?

ChuckLeone

Hello fellow HTML 5 developers. I need some advice from those of you who have been at this for a while. I hope you have some time to take a look at this post and make whatever suggestions you feel will put me on the correct path...

I'm a seasoned UI Designer/Developer of over 13 years and have developed a few games in Flash and Lua in the past but have never finished or released a fully developed game title. My goal is set up a game development environment that will allow me as a hobbyist, develop and release games on multiple platforms including OS X, iOS, Android and more.

In the past few years I have experimented with Xcode and have built a couple simple apps for iOS. Lately, I have been working in Eclipse and have taken some of my HTML 5 apps and wrapped them into native Android apps using WebView. On top of that, I have been learning JavaScript and jQuery. I have built a few web based apps using what I have learned as well as the HTML 5 game I am currently working on. This game is written in pure JavaScript and I'm a few months into development. I'm happy with the progress I have made on the game, but I want to take things to the next level a get it running on devices like the OUYA console, Android tablets and other platforms as an app and not just a website (that I need to host somewhere).

My initial experiments with the OUYA and Android platforms have exposed me to the current problems with HTML 5 on these devices (audio playback in particular). As I continue to research the HTML 5 development process and it's inherent hurdles, it's becoming more and more apparent that I should probably be using a game engine that can handle things such as audio, canvas acceleration, controller input, etc instead of the raw javascript coding way I've been developing so far.