Match-three puzzle games algorithm

shohan4556

I'm sure there is something generic out there. What I would do is to set some rules and check them. First have each object have an id that defines its type, then do a check if the selected 3 are matching their type, if they are then continue to check their distance from one another, if the distance is (next-right, next-left, next-up, next-down, next-diagonal-top-right, next-diagonal-top-left, next-diagonal-bottom-right,next-diagonal-bottom-left) then continue to check the next element of the 3 if all these checks return true, then you have a match 3.

Maybe its too much work like that I don't know, its what I would think of to do, if nothing else came up.

Hi, I have some experience in making match-3 games.

There can be lot of "levels" for match-3 - from simple one to very complex. One example: simple top down falling vs. complex falling to sides. You are also free to think of different tasks for your user.

Best tutorial I have seen for simple match-3 game is at RayWenderlich.com: http://www.raywenderlich.com/66877/how-to-make-a-game-like-candy-crush-part-1. After reading this tutorial we made simple native Android/iOS match-3 in modern flat design. Now, we are working on much more complex one in Phaser (screenshot) with lot of tasks for users, including battles, diagonal falls, lot of animations... So I recommend: start simple and then enhance your work.

Hi, I have some experience in making match-3 games.

There can be lot of "levels" for match-3 - from simple one to very complex. One example: simple top down falling vs. complex falling to sides. You are also free to think of different tasks for your user.