Counting pixels?

Jambutters

Yello, newbie here.

My short story: I've been (re)watching tutorial series on web development and programming for.... about 4 years...I end up quitting due to distraction/preoccupation with other games, then find myself grinding tutorials when I have the urge to re learn(which is once a month or so). 

Now, since I'm out of school and no longer addicted to any particular games, I've been getting some hands on experience for the past couple days(FINALLY). I still struggle with wondering what to write but that's not the point. 

-End of story-

Something I've always struggled with is counting/drawing/placing/calculating pixels in sprites/images whether it would be trying to design/positioning a webpage using css or drawing/calculating x&y of movement and sprite drawing.

What do I mean by counting/drawing/placing/calculating pixels? 

Pixels are really/extremely small.. I don't understand how developers can estimate/count/place them. Saying things like "hmmm, 30 pixels down and 100px right should be right about here(pointing with their cursors)", knowing a relatively close position of where their image is going to be placed. How is this possible? I really really can't imagine counting 30 pixels across and 100 down... I'd probably end up being off by a lot...

(From a tutorial video) Another example is moving a sprite 5 pixels right when a player press the right arrow key.(I know how the function works)  but..... what does 5px left, look like? How do developers know what 5px left looks like?  Again, I can't imagine counting 5px to the left... I don't think I could keep track of counting 5 pixes (microdots) to the left...

Anyways, you get the point. I'm not asking for a specific answer of " Well, 5px left or 100px down is about (x) inches" . 

I'm asking, How do I count pixels? 

Sorry if this is somewhat confusing.