Phaser & Backend Questions

Cyborg_Ean

Hey everyone, I spectate these forums all of the time so this a very late intro.  I'm very excited to begin making games with Phaser but since I'm new to Web Development technologies (especially the backend) I'm certainly in need of some direction.  I have a few beginner questions so please excuse my rudimentary knowledge of Web Dev.

Aside from learning Phaser I'm picking up Flask to develop knowledge of the backend, that also means learning template rendering.  I'm struggling with Hello Phaser, and I believe it has something to do with the distinction of loading Phaser assets and loading Flask assets.  The problem is I'm not sure how to use Jinja to access the Phaser api (or rather 'game.load.Image' atm)? I also tried this setup with little luck. Any help here would be greatly appreciated! I've spent the last couple days reading tons about jinja, flask, phaser, html, and even found myself looking through the pixi api, but I just don't know enough about web dev or these apis in general to pinpoint exactly what I'm looking for at this point in time.

Also, can someone point me in a good direction towards quality learning material for server side programming for gamedev. Advice on how to approach the topic would be very useful!  I'm focusing on Flask at the moment, but soon after I'll try my hand at Django and other Web frameworks as soon as I develop a comfort zone and a project or two.  Or there more convenient routes for learning the back-end that I can take?  I accept that I have tons to learn but I'm so excited for Phaser that I'm willing to learn as much as it would take to do it right!

(I have some experience with Python, Js, and Java.  Also GameMaker, for what it's worth)