TypeScript vs JavaScript?

ScottyFillups

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner to Phaser. Recently I've been teaching myself by look at examples and experimenting using the phaser sandbox. I obviously plan to ditch the phaser sandbox when I begin start developing big projects, but I'm unsure whether I should stick with JavaScript or learn TypeScript.

The two tutorials for "Getting Started" differ, so I need to reach a decision before I can really move on.

http://phaser.io/tutorials/getting-started/index

http://phaser.io/tutorials/how-to-use-phaser-with-typescript

I'm somewhat familiar with JavaScript, but I'm not too fond of how it's a prototype-based language. TypeScript's syntax looks like a cleaner version of Java with "superior" (class-based) OOP. I have some experience with Java, so learning a new class-based language wouldn't be very difficult.

2 hours ago, ScottyFillups said:

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner to Phaser. Recently I've been teaching myself by look at examples and experimenting using the phaser sandbox. I obviously plan to ditch the phaser sandbox when I begin start developing big projects, but I'm unsure whether I should stick with JavaScript or learn TypeScript.

The two tutorials for "Getting Started" differ, so I need to reach a decision before I can really move on.

http://phaser.io/tutorials/getting-started/index

http://phaser.io/tutorials/how-to-use-phaser-with-typescript

I'm somewhat familiar with JavaScript, but I'm not too fond of how it's a prototype-based language. TypeScript's syntax looks like a cleaner version of Java with "superior" (class-based) OOP. I have some experience with Java, so learning a new class-based language wouldn't be very difficult.

Class based OO is supported on ES6. Not many browsers support it yet so we rely on tools like Babel to transpile it down. Instead of prototypal inheritence, you can code JS like "class X extends Y" like you used to in native Javascript nowadays.