how reduce gpu memory?

GBear

hi. i'm developing MMORPG MadWorld
it can play on pc,mobile

you can see movie on under link
https://twitter.com/jandisoft

but mobile has few memory. specially ios under iphone 6(including 6, not 6s)

our game png and jpg to draw image with webgl. but it need a lot of memory..
is there any tips to reduce memory?

i'm considering compressed texture like etc1, pvr,...etc..

but it can't control easy with multi platform.
if you have tips please tell me..

char.png

I'm no expert but wouldn't it be to do with both shader complexity and texture sizes, I'd guess texture sizes would be the major factor.

Not sure if number of textures vs size of textures has an impact i.e. is one big one (i.e. spritesheet) better than many smaller ones? I'd guess it would be, but total guess.

Another solution would be to limit how many you have in memory at a time i.e. load only what you need (ha, sounds like the dark old days!), this might mean designing parts of your game.

@mattstyles hi matt 

yes you right. texture sizes is major factor..
and we don't have any way to control it T-T.  i'm using very very tight...
so i have to find other way like texture compress (i think this is best way but very very hard to control on mobile.  pc is more easy.. .
but mobile T-T.. 

do you have tips?

How do you think?

There was https://github.com/pixijs/pixi-compressed-textures No idea if it works with latest pixi.

Unfortunately, otherwise you're going to _have_ to control texture size. You can't have a problem of too many textures in memory but then say you can't remove textures from memory... You're going to have to find a way or you have no mobile game! 

mattstyles raises a good point.... when in one game area, load textures for it, but when going to another area, delete the old one, and load the new one. Tricky, but possible.