SVG Animated character

lfarroco

Hi there,

I'm new to html5gamedevs and I'm sharing my experiences on a personal side-project of mine: a HTML5 Ogre Battle styled game.

During the project I noticed that it would be quite hard to change equipment in the characters, as I was using frames. So, instead of using frames, I started wondering if some CSS and jQuery animations could be used over SVG files.

Here's the results:

http://studioaudax.com/dev/ayruma

Each equipment is a SVG file drawn on Inkscape. The cool things is that the SVGs might be manipulated after they are rendered, so changing colors on specific paths is also possible.

The downside for this method, I think, would be its performance on mobile devices.

I hope that these experiments are helpful for anyone looking to animate objects in their games!

Here's the animation logic: the character is a HTML tree. There's a parent div for the whole unit, and inside it children divs to each part of the body (trunk, arms, legs...). Inside each div, there's a SVG file with the equipment for that body part (gloves, armor, boots...).

The animations are CSS based. If I want to make the legs move, I use jQuery to add the "moving" class to the parent div. There's a style that applies an pendulum animation to the "leg" classes if they have the parent "moving". As CSS allow us to define anchors to the div (in this case, in the top middle), the movement becomes more natural. Also, CSS includes some easings without the need for plugins.

@-webkit-keyframes leftLegMove{0%   {-webkit-transform: rotate(-60deg);}50%   {-webkit-transform: rotate(60deg);}100%  {-webkit-transform: rotate(-60deg);}animation-timing-function: ease-out;}.moving .leg.left{   animation: leftLegMove 0.7s infinite;  -webkit-animation: leftLegMove 0.7s infinite;}

jQuery animations were required to make the character move around the screen.