Is PixiJS enough or do I need another library?

vihanagarwal

I am a student currently working on a simple Picture Reveal Game. The way it works is this: A picture is hidden behind a grid of squares. Each time you click on a square a trivia question pops up and if you answer it correctly part of that picture is revealed, if not, you lose points. The aim is to guess the picture. We will use an online API for the questions. That being said here are my concerns:

I understand PixiJS is only a rendered with capabilities of taking input. Will pixiJS be sufficient for the game I am planning to build? I will need some sort of database that holds a collection of images (as I do not want to use Flickr API), and will also need to keep a track of the state of the game. Will PixiJS and regular JS be enough for this task? Or do I need another library as well?

Depends entirely on how much you want to code yourself, as you noted, Pixi handles rendering (and also some user input management).

You don't need a database on images, just store them somewhere and request them, no need to attempt to stuff them into a database.

Pixi does not handle state or data management so you'll either need to code that yourself or find a library to help you, something like Phaser builds atop Pixi to add stuff like state managament, audio stuff (I think), richer user input (keyboard, gamepad etc) and some other stuff. If part of your assignment is to learn this stuff though then its worth coding up state management yourself, using a finite state machine should be easy enough to learn and implement. To be honest it doesn't sound like you need Pixi either, you're just manipulating elements and images, which the DOM is more than capable of handling, but, thats up to you (I'm just not sure what advantages Pixi gives you in your case and it adds another abstraction to learn and manage).