Audio Shenanigans: Some Play, Some Don't?

Trev-MUN

Hey everyone,

Over the past few months I've been working on a project in Phaser and I've come across a really frustrating problem. I don't think it's caused by Phaser or the code I've written, but has to do with the audio files themselves. Yet, I can't figure out what to do in order to make this work. I studied the example here to determine how to preload audio assets, create a variable linked to that asset, and then call it on demand. I should note that this example on the Phaser site works as intended. I can hear the example music play on both Firefox and Chrome.

I also studied other discussions about using audio in Phaser. I saw people warn against the use of MP3 as it's a licensed format, and recommended using OGG for Firefox with M4A as the fallback for Chrome. So; that's what I tried doing.

It's not gone well.

Only some of the M4A files play in Chrome. I can't figure out why, and I can't discern a pattern behind it. Some of the sounds I'd edited in Adobe Audition, others I'd left as-is. Regardless, they'd all been converted to M4A via iTunes. Some of the sounds I've edited will play, others won't; some of the sounds that were converted as-is will play, others won't. Chrome's dev console doesn't give any answers at all.

I've tried inspecting the properties of the M4A sounds with VLC Player to see if I can determine a certain setting is causing the issue, but as far as I can tell all the M4A files have the exact same properties.

I encounter the same issue on Firefox. when it comes to using MP3s. The same sounds that play on Chrome will play in Firefox; the same is true of the sounds that won't play. In this case, the error I receive is "The buffer passed to decodeAudioData contains invalid content which cannot be decoded successfully."