HTML5 RPG Game, does it work?

feyninja

So after reading the success stories from many guys here, i want to start creating and selling html5 games.

But i don't have much interest in puzzle, casual game, i love RPG genre.

I want to create some very simple RPG game, but i'm not sure publisher will want to buy it? Because RPG should require continuing long time gameplay unlike casual game (which you can play and stop, and replay anytime). And it relied on web browser's cache to save the game, that said if someone have the habit of clearing web cache, they can't continue the game.

I'm very new to this and really want to hear from you guys, if there's no choice, i guess i will back to puzzle, casual game.

Sorry if i mistyped something.

Cheers.

First of all, regardless of what sells or not, start small. First-time large projects have a (making this up but I'm probably close haha) 99.99% failure rate. Also, taking on too much too soon is also not conducive to learning the best either. So start small!

The RPG genre typically involves very large games because the point is role playing which requires immersion into some game world. To create such immersion you typically need lots of content to interact with, storylines, items, lots of environments, lots of characters etc.  So I'd suggest beginning with some smaller casual puzzle games.