How to make the player do small / medium / long jumps?

toto88x

Hi,

I'm building a mario like. Right now I'm doing this to make the player jump:

if (cursor.up.isDown && player.body.touching.down)        player.body.velocity.y = -100;

It's simple, and it works. What I'm trying to do now is to make the player do small / medium / long jumps, depending on how long the player press on the up arrow key. And I'm not sure what's the best way to do this. Any idea?

Thanks! 

I'm still new to phaser so there is most likely a better way of doing this..

Quick and messy but this should work:
In the preload():

var timer = 0;var loadingJump = false;

In update()

if (cursors.up.isDown && player.body.touching.down) {        loadingJump = true;        timer += game.time.elapsed; // time is in ms                    } else if (loadingJump == true) {                    if (timer < 300) {                // small jump                player.body.velocity.y = -150;            }            else if (timer < 600) {                 // medium jump                player.body.velocity.y = -250;            }            else if (timer > 600) {                // longjump                player.body.velocity.y = -350;            }            loadingJump = false;            timer = 0;        }

Edit: changed the timing

Thanks! But I dont want the player to hold a key, and after see the player jump.

I want to make it like mario: while the button is pressed, the player jump. And depending on how long the button is pressed, the player will jump more or less high.

With your code:

1) if (cursors.up.isDown && player.body.touching.down), will be true only before the player jumps (when it touches the ground)

2) if (timer < 600), we cannot know in advance if the player is going for a medium jump 

Thanks!

I think that if you will modify the gravity:

1. Player started jump and holds his finger on the screen then gravity is 0.5 of normal garvity