Timing/game speed question

Zampano

Hi there,

I'm not exactly about phasers behaviour when the fps drop below 60 and I hope you guys can help me clarify!

if the fps drop, does the game speed drop also? Will a movement or action take longer than normally or will everything behave normally with a choppier output? 

I'm trying to make a rhythm based game, a little bit like guitar hero and need to have my game in synch with an audio file and don't want to start fiddling on the timing stuff while I don't really understand it. What would be the best way to do that?

Thank you!
Simon

Typically in game development to ensure an object moves relative to your physics rather than the CPU cycles, you use a time delta variable which corrects any variations in the run time between frames, It sounds a little complex at first but actually it's quite simple.

I'm not a phaser pro but I know there's an article here discussing a case with phaser and the requirement for time delta:

https://gamedev.stackexchange.com/questions/125258/does-phaser-arcade-body-velocity-include-deltatime-or-not

The post isnt very clear and I've never had to document it myself so I'll struggle to explain it succinctly but basically, once you have the deltaTime you can just multiple your variables by that number and it results in smooth transitions. I use it all the time.

e.g.

(pseudo code)

object.y += 50 * deltaTime

I see. I understand the concept, thank you very much. 

I'm not able to really get it to work yet, though, since in this post, the calculation of deltaTime doesn't really make sense since it will always be around 1 if the framerate is roughly consistent, regardless if its for example 60 or 30 fps. 

I have narrowed it down to the following calculation:

deltaTime = elapsedMS/(1000/desiredFPS)