Making the jump to HTML5

Biggerplay

I've been a Flash/AS3 dev for many years. I've worked on numerous advergames, created many of my own Flash games and sold many games on FGL. My site is the same as my username on here.

Recently I've heard murmurings from different directions that there's less and less money being made with Flash games, reciprocally I've heard that JS games are making more and more money. My current main job is a big iOS strategy game I'm working on but I thought perhaps now is the time to really get serious about HTML5 and put some time aside to make some games.

So the questions in this post is mostly about me trying to get myself up to speed as quickly as possible as I'm a bit late to the party. I've looked on these forums already but haven't quite found the answers I'm looking for.

Questions…

1. I'm completely new to JS, but it doesn't look that far off AS3, are there any main gotchas that I should be aware of using JS rather than AS3? I think I've heard it somewhere that JS is a bit like AS1/2 ?
  2. Do I need to use a local web server? (I’m on Mac) I know there seems to be a web cloud option but what are the differences (advantages/disadvantages) in developing with the cloud as apposed to a local web server? I’m all for things being as easy as possible, so if that’s the cloud approach cool, but equally I don’t want to put myself in a situation where I’m constrained in any way by using the cloud option, hence the question ☺
  3. The cloud9 approach has the IDE built in? So I do or don’t need a separate editor in that case? If I went the local web server way though, I also do have the complete Adobe suite of tools, if that’s of any use to me ?
  4. Does anyone here use Cloud9, and have created games with cloud 9?