Phaser JWT example

VedranT

Hello,

I am pretty new to Phaser and web in general (coming from desktop dev background) and I am making my first HTML5 game using Phaser. I already have Auth REST service, but I am not sure how to implement JWT authentication on front end of my game/app. Google didn't provide any useful results. Could someone point me to some tutorial or example?

Thanks.

Auth isn't something that Phaser handles and I haven't heard of a plugin that would help (one might exist though?). You'd be best off on Stack Overflow for this sort of problem rather than here.

JWT is just a standardised way of returning an authenticated token, it contains data which you could unpack on the client but really shouldn't. Once you've generated a JWT (by passing auth credentials from your client) the best way is to use that token as is in subsequent requests to your services, its up to the services to understand the claims contained by the JWT and respond appropriately.

If you want it as an auth gateway to your application then you'd just need some code that displays your login screen (this could be a separate url or part of a single-page app) and proceeds to the rest of your app once a token is generated. Ideally your api would be locked down behind a generated token but it all depends how deep you want to go, you could keep your api open and the client would only call it after generating a token and proceeding to the rest of your app/game, this isn't very secure as any hits on the api would return data but if you return no sensitive data (i.e. nothing associated with an account and certainly no private data that lives against an account or otherwise) then you might say that is fine.