Continuously scrolling background

Biggerplay

What would be the best way to have a continuously scrolling background? I'm new to JS/Phaser, but the way I would usually approach it would to be have an art based background (not tiled) which is constructed on the fly so to speak from various elements (clouds, buildings, etc). Would that work with JS/Phaser? and if so how would I implement that with Phaser?

(Actually I guess tiled might work as well if I could have overlapping tile layers one with big objects and one with small platformy type objects).

I've done it with tiles but on the fly I wouldn't really know. Maybe some clever X position random spawn in? I just used tiles for mine but its not on the fly so to speak. I have elements added to it but custom with me telling it the X/Y and then again the X/Y with a group of sprites. Not sure if that's helpful but might be of some use. EG: car.x = game.world.randomX: cay.y= game.world.height - 64; random X is what it says, random, but you'll need to group them and recycle as you go depending on how many you want.

I've done it with tiles but on the fly I wouldn't really know. Maybe some clever X position random spawn in? I just used tiles for mine but its not on the fly so to speak. I have elements added to it but custom with me telling it the X/Y and then again the X/Y with a group of sprites. Not sure if that's helpful but might be of some use. EG: car.x = game.world.randomX: cay.y= game.world.height - 64; random X is what it says, random, but you'll need to group them and recycle as you go depending on how many you want.

Are there any looping scrolling Phaser tile examples like you described anywhere?