Deploying games to Android.

gamedevisfun

Hi Guys, I'm new to html 5 game development but not new to programming, I picked phaser over other tools such as unity because I like to code more than fighting with the UI for making simple 2d games. 

When it came to deployment to Android, the performance was terrible. I wrapped it using plain Cordova(not cocoon or phone gap) I understand that the game will then use WebView provided by the phone, so that means the performance will vary across devices. 

On my note 4, the game worked fine but on my s3 it was terribly slow. I searched everywhere on the web on how to deploy html5 games to Android and people have been suggesting either phone gap(performance sucks on this) or Cocoon.io which basically packages WebView+ or Canvas+ which are suppose to improve performance and is developed specifically for games but requires payment for apps more than 50mb. 

Does that mean we are stuck using Cocoon.io if the games I develop are more than 50mb and I want them to perform reasonably well? 

All I wanted was to develop couple of small games and ship them on Android to test the waters and not have to pay for it. Unity is free until the 100k revenue mark and now I'm thinking of moving to Unity just because it makes deployment slightly better than deploying html5/js games.

Also I'm not sure about  Cocoon.io'sfuture, if for some reason they decide to pull the plug on it, then that would be just terrible for developers who are using html5/js to develop games. 

In short - Are we stuck using Cocoon.io if we want our games to perform well?

Thanks and I apologize if it sounded like a rant, I'm just frustrated because of this whole deployment issue.

No, you can continue to use Cordova, checkout Crosswalk which replaces various bits of the browser env to give you performance boosts at a hit to package size (about 25mb I think, might be wrong).