cloned skeletons animate incorrectly only on iphone

Baker Xiao

Hi BX.  I'm not an expert at all, but there has been "forum talk" about bone limits on mobile devices.

I'm not sure if it applies, but perhaps...

http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/19796-skeleton-bones-limit/

Search the forum carefully.  I'm sure I have seen others talking about similar issues.  Others will likely comment soon.  Sorry I didn't have more answers.

I see the same thing on iOS.  @Baker Xiao turn on your playground debug layer.  My guess is that for instances, it is trying to accomplish this in 1 draw call.  This is bad news for iOS which uses the minimum for the # of uniform buffers.  It also does not support WebGL 2, so no uniform buffers.

The console has the uniform limit was hit & is was falling back to CPU skinning.  Now perhaps this is a problem there.  I know the only time I touched that, someone had to fix it later, so no opinion if anything can be done.  Best not to use instances & skeleton at the same time, if targeting mobile.  Android only allows double the minimum, at least on my hardware & chrome.

@Deltakosh, I have a better handle of the scrolling problem of  debug / console on iOS.  I said it wasn't working on one earlier topic.  On the Github issue, I said it was.  The story is, if a fallback is involved, the text of all the shader source wraps and I guess keeps the field from scrolling. 

Thanks @Wingnut @Deltakosh @JCPalmer for helping!

@Deltakosh making geometry unique fixes the issue! Is that what we should be doing? It fixes the individual animations but some faces on the mesh somehow appear missing... 

@JCPalmer We're not doing instancing though. We are cloning the meshes. Perhaps sharing the same geometry is the underlying cause?