Cityscape

Diogo Schneider

cityscape.png.3141692cf8feacaba3d38f3d25855e79.png

Hi, everyone!

This game was the second finished game I published. It is heavily inspired by Freeway and Frogger, but it does actually have an ending after you finish it.

The game features 50 sequential levels, with increasing difficulty. It also has an auto save feature, so you can play a little then come back to it later.

Here's the link: https://diogoschneider.github.io/cityscape/

This game was made with Quick, the game engine I've been working on since 2014 and was derived from my first games: https://diogoschneider.github.io/quick/

Thank you for your time! Cheers!

Edited by Diogo Schneider
Added link to fullscreen version

Hi Diogo,

The ui, graphics and sound effects transmit very well the feeling of an arcade game of the 80s (I like it). 
About the controls: I miss a change of lane a little faster. In the middle of the road it is impossible to dodge the fastest vehicles. Has anyone reached level 50? :)

screenshot.png.38bf4eaf188d9cb835ae471254c7b227.png

Regards.

Hi! Thanks, that's the idea! I grew up playing games from the '80s, so that's the way I feel they should look like.

I'm aware that the game gets pretty tough after a while (just like the good ol' arcade games, right?). But I can guarantee it's possible to finish it. It's meant to replicate the challenge of crossing a very fast highway. And you're in control of a huge hen, right? Which should be still better than trying it as a human, I guess.

Well, it gets to the point where it's more about strategy than action. Everything counts, from walking left or right so you can better see the vehicles coming, avoiding manholes, waiting for slow vehicles that will hold the fast ones behind them... and of course collecting all the corn you can to gain some extra lives. Just like crossing the road in real life, it's more about planning and being cautious than being an athlete, right?