Very confused about the Z-ordering system - can manually setting a sprite's z in a group affect the order?

zack_falcon

First off, please take note that I'm not just new to this forum, I'm new to phaser in general. I know a lot of people had z-ordering issues before. I've read about them. And most of the replies amount to "use the built-in sorting system." Which is great... if or when it works.

However, I haven't seen anything that approaches my code, so I'm not entirely sure what to do. And boy does it produce some unique issues when the group sort is applied.

There is one difference between the samples I see online and my code: I don't use +/-x and +/-y to move my character; instead, I use tween. This is so I can have a "snap to tile".

Without further ado, my (mess of a) code:

class Gameplay extends Phaser.State {
  create() {
    this.backgroundGroup = this.game.add.group();
    this.mainGroundGroup = this.game.add.group();
    this.foregroundGroup = this.game.add.group();
    // GET MAP
    this.mapFile = this.game.cache.getJSON('protomap');
    // SETUP GRID AND WORLD
    this.colCount = this.mapFile.columns;
    this.rowCount = this.mapFile.rows;
    this.game.world.setBounds(0, 0, (this.colCount * CONST.TILESIZE), (this.rowCount * CONST.TILESIZE));    
    this.grid = new Grid(this.game, this.colCount, this.rowCount);
    this.grid.x = 0;
    this.grid.y = 0;
    this.mainGroundGroup.add(this.grid);
    // SETUP OBJECTS
    this.spawnManager = new SpawnManager(this.game, this.grid, this.backgroundGroup, this.mainGroundGroup, this.foregroundGroup, this.mapFile);
    // SETUP PLAYER
    this.player = this.spawnManager.player;
    this.game.camera.follow(this.player);
  }

update() {
    this.mainGroundGroup.sort('y', Phaser.Group.SORT_ASCENDING);
    this.player.z = this.player.currentTile.z;    
  }
}

class Grid extends Phaser.Group {
  constructor(game, p_columnCount, p_rowCount) {
    super(game);
    game.add.existing(this);
    this.game = game;