Hires & hidpi explanation / help

8bitdna

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to Panda 2 after purchasing a licence recently and have been having a lot of fun so far, awesome engine :)

I'm wondering if I can get a little bit of help with the system class attributes 'hires' and 'hidpi'?

Thanks to Tom Vencels fantastic video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiBnUgylJEY&lc=z22bs1azftrhef3ciacdp4320lswfsnhmwgvimzealpw03c010c.1528017727658162 I think I have a basic understanding of whats going on.  Hires essentially allows for assets to be swapped in using higher (or lower) resolution versions that match better for the device being run on based on the 'logical' game size.  A little dig into the Panda 2 source code tells me that it looks for assets based on multiples of 2 and I also see what Hires scale things are running at currently by using the debug panel.  Please correct me if I'm wrong!

Hidpi I'm a little more confused about.  This is to help with displays that have super high pixel densities?  So if the my game is running on one of those displays with it switched off it will try and swap in a higher resolution asset?  Switched on it won't?  Can anyone describe when its good to have this switched off and when its good to be switched on please?

@enpu Having something in the docs would be great to explain some things like this, I didn't realise Panda 2 had builtin support for dynamic resolution asset management until I stumbled on Tom's vids :) 

Cheers Folks

Pete

Hi @8bitdna - Happy you found my vid useful :) 

I'll try to explain the 'hidpi' setting a little more. Many new monitors have very high resolutions (2k, 4k etc.). There are however, still a lot of 1080p screens floating around.

With high resolution monitors, there will usually be a setting in your OS that will 'zoom in' , otherwise the icons that were designed for 1080p screens will appear very small. The same happens with websites etc.