collision detection with holes

SchneeHenry

Hello community,

I'm new to babylonjs and I have a question concerning to the collision detection of holes in meshes. I want to recognize that a sphere flies through a hole (any kind of shape possible).

I prepared a example with an cylinder which contains some holes (different shapes) at a random position. A sphere is moving up and down to collide with the cylinder and I want to know, if that sphere collides with a hole or with the surface of the mesh object.
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/indexStable.html#1ZQS9W#6

At the moment, the collision with the mesh object changes the color of the sphere on any 'collision'. My goal is, that the sphere changes the color only passing/flying through a hole, but the holes can be random positioned and could also have a random shape. 

It would be great if you guys can help/teach me how to achieves this. 

The easiest would be to make the hole an invisible mesh so then you could detect collision with it. The best part is that if it is invisible you could rely on efficient shapes like spheres fitting as best as you can with your hole shapes to detect the collisions.

Do not hesitate to let me know if I am not clear enough.

Hi and thx for the reply.

I changed some lines of code so that the "hole objects" are invisible and added via ActionManager a collision detection on these.
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/indexStable.html#1ZQS9W#8

But the detection isn't as accurate as I thought. If the sphere just hit the edge of the hole the detection fires, but visually the sphere would hit the ground and only the edge of the hole.

Maybe I should add more smaller 'collider' objects to make a more precise detection, but that could  cause a performance issue?!

Hi SH, and welcome from me, too.  Sebavan and I talked a bit... in a personal message.... about your issue.  We (I) talked a bit about using a small invisible collider in center of hole.