Entity-Component Systems and performance in JavaScript.

groutxo

First of all, hello everyone. First time posting, since I started with html5 a bit ago. I'm planning an ECS on JavaScript and, because of my little experience with JS, I'm getting into a few concerns.

I'm new to JS, so I may be missing some JS technique that could help me to handle this. Anyway, I'm trying to keep myself informed on JS language inners, so that I can get as much power as I can from it.

I suppose everyone knows what an ECS is. Anyway, I'll explain at least how I understand it. An ECS is composed of Entities, Components and Systems. Components are data, entities are bags of components, and systems just operate on entity components it's interested in to apply some kind of logic. It's also well explained on this post.

What I currently planned for entities and components was something like this (syntax may not be the correct, but the point is just to show the idea):
var NormalShipEntity = {    positionComponent: { x: 0, y: 0 },    velocityComponent: {....},    shootComponent: { shootrate: 30, shoottype: derpl },    lifeComponent: { health: 100 },}var InnocentShipEntity = {    positionComponent....,    velocityComponent....,    lifeComponent....}

Here, I have created two kinds of entities that both are ships, but one has a shootComponent and the other doesn't, so here is the real sugar of ECS: you can create new entity models by composing them of components, and getting rid of a deep level hierarchy.

Now, the question is about systems, that are the real code acting on entity components. There are two main approaches when applying system functionality to entities:

1. Iterate once over all entities and, foreach entity, check all systems against it. This checking implies to know if the system has to process this entity. For example, a MoveSystem needs positionComponent and velocityComponent: if one of them is missing, the MoveSystem doesn't act on that entity.