New Driving Game - Looking For Feedback

TomC10

I am very new to game development and I have one that I am hoping to get some feedback on.

It's simple a driving game. You click anywhere on the left side of the road to change lanes left, and on the right side to change lanes right.

You are allowed three crashes before the game ends and you gain one crash for every 100 points. A head-on crash ends the game immediately.

The game gradually speeds up over time but I think it's too easy at first to move through traffic.

I appreciate any feedback or advice.

You can play the game here: http://www.moonglowsoftware.com/games/taxi-driver/taxi-driver.html

Thanks.

driver.png

@TomC10 just some quick feedback ... 1) needs keyboard control too, 2) the dashed lines on the road are "above" the cars (visible when they spin), 3) hit test rectangle allows lots of overlap on rear of car, 4) phantom yellow pixel top left of Taxi, 5) gameplay needs some evolution (good start, add more, make fun!)

When playing with mouse, I died the first time, because I was just clicking to the left/right of the car to move it. But if you click on the left side of the car, but it's still technically on the right side of the screen, it goes in the 'wrong' direction. (If that makes sense)

Still, figured it out after that. ? Maybe that's just me being a bit dumb. I know you put the text/instructions at the start of the game, but it was a few too many words for me to read all at once. I've seen other games do different things, like flash one half of the screen with a right-arrow, and the other half with a left arrow.

I'd say you've got a little bit too much text in general. From a UX/Design perspective. You can replace a lot of them with graphic icons, etc. This makes it better for international audience, as the UI becomes universal.