Need guidance on how to do some low level GL operations

JoakimCh

Hello,

My goal is to update a small part of a texture the fastest way possible with WebGL2, preferably using Pixi.js v5 (RC 3 is out).

Am I right that a RenderTexture is going to re-upload the whole texture whenever there is a change? (this would not be good for a big texture, hence why I am looking for another method)

I'm a complete noob when it comes to OpenGL, but I've googled a bit and figured that I can use gl.texSubImage2D() to upload just the part of the texture that I need to change. I didn't find a way to get the WebGLTexture object of a PIXI.Texture, so to be able to use that command I did something like this (not the complete code):

renderer.addSystem(PIXI.systems.TextureSystem)
renderer.TextureSystem.contextChange() // needed to do this
loader.load(main) // and could not use gl.texSubImage2D() on tex before the loader called main
function main() {
  let tex = resources['test'].texture
  let imgData = new Uint8Array(32*32*4)
  renderer.TextureSystem.bind(tex)
    renderer.gl.texSubImage2D(gl.TEXTURE_2D, 0, 0, 0, 32, 32, gl.RGBA, gl.UNSIGNED_BYTE, imgData)
  renderer.TextureSystem.unbind(tex)
}

But I wish that I had the WebGLTexture available so I could avoid messing around with PIXI.systems.TextureSystem, because I don't really know much about it or when and how it should be used.

I also want to read the previous data and change it, I figured it can be done with:

gl.readPixels(0, 0, 32, 32, gl.RGBA, gl.UNSIGNED_BYTE, imgData)

But that needs the frameBuffer to be binded first...
Hence I tried to also use the PIXI.systems.FramebufferSystem, lol:

renderer.framebufferSystem.bind(fb) //fb = new PIXI.Framebuffer(tex.width, tex.height).addColorTexture(0,tex)
gl.readPixels(0, 0, 32, 32, gl.RGBA, gl.UNSIGNED_BYTE, imgData)

But it was not that easy, I didn't even find a way to unbind it. But I guess it is not supposed to be used for my little problem...?