Server javascript code

jar4563

Hi

I was looking for some javascript pathfinding libraries and wanted to use such for my game but I realize they use the require function and what I gathered is that it means the script can only be used in server (NodeJS).

So, what are my best options if I want to use such libarary?

I'm really a beginner to server side javascript and don't know what it takes to get that running

thanks!

Rightly or wrongly, most JS applications now use a build system of some sort, which means they have access to a module system, which means that they can understand `require` (which is CommonJS format, as used by Node, to complicate things, there is now ES6 module spec as well, using `import` and `export` syntax, mostly, build systems will understand both, mostly).

As most JS apps use a build system this means that most JS libraries (such as found on npm, which is *not* just for node, its for JS, which includes node and client and IOT and and and etc etc etc) now _expect_ that build system and the module system that it allows. However, many many JS libraries also expose a client-only version of their library for those who do not want to use a build system.

Even if you are building an entirely client-side application I would still advise setting up a build tool chain.

Some disadvantages of a build chain:

* Can be tricky to set up

* Still not quite as simple as just running code in the browser

Some advantages:

* Many cross-browser issues disappear due to transpilation

* You get access to a module system, helping you to organise your code base

* Due to module system you get easier access to external libraries by using a service such as npm to access that code (i.e. you no longer have to reinvent the wheel and it is considerably safer than other methods of accessing third-party code)