How should the update and render logic be separated?

mtycholaz

I've been trying to wrap my head around understanding the update and render functions.

Here's my game loop:

• Update function runs at 25 fps
  • Render function runs as fast as it can (usually 50-60 FPS)

For the sake of argument, lets pretend that I'm going to animate a box moving from left to right on the screen.

Here's what's bugging me. If I put the code to change the xy into the update function, then in one second the box will have 25 position changes. Essentially, even though my render loop runs faster, the animation would appear to run at 25 FPS. 

I want to take advantage of my faster running rendering function for smoother animations. It would seem to me that I should initiate the move in the update function. Something like .moveTo(position), but then actually set the xy coordinates of the object in the render function.

This is my first time writing a game loop so I'm not sure how other people do it, but it just seems weird to me to change the xy coordinates in the render function.

I'd like to know how other people have approached this problem and what your solutions are.

UPDATE:

Or should the update function change the xy coordinates, and the render function just interpolate the change/difference in values?

Separating update and render is probably a good idea, but I don't think they should be completely independent: why render the same frame again if you haven't updated anything? You may want to wait until an update occurs before re-drawing.

Or should the update function change the xy coordinates, and the render function just interpolate the change/difference in values?

This would give you the best visual result, but it's an expensive process, because you need the xy coordinates for two update frames to be able to interpolate, and the interpolation itself takes time.