kpowgames

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Phaser, and I'm just starting to figure things out.

I made a simple prototype that uses "game.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys()" to listen and process the keyboard's cursor keys.

Basically I have a sprite that moves up, down, left and right depending on input.

Now I'm trying to achieve the same using touch events: when I swipe left, the sprite moves left; when I swipe up, the sprite moves up, etc.... but with no success.

I've managed to detect swipe using a solution that user @imshag posted in this topic:

http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/3862-swipe-to-jump/?hl=%2Bswipe+%2Bphaser#entry24473

It detects swipe, but doesn´t give me info on the direction of it. I could really use your help... How can I detect the direction of a swipe, and limit it to "up", "down", "left" and "right?

Thanks in advance!

You'll need to compare the start and end points.

Here's what I would try (note: below is untested):

changeX = endPoint.x - startPoint.x;changeY = endPoint.y - startPoint.y;if (Math.abs(changeX) > Math.abs(changeY)) {//The change in X axis was greater than the Y axis, so treat as a horizontal swipe//Now determine if left or right    if (changeX > 0) {        //its a swipe right    } else {        //its a swipe left    }} else {//The change in Y axis was greater than the X axis, so treat as a vertical swipe//Now determine if up or down    if (changeY > 0) {        //its a swipe down    } else {        //its a swipe up    }}

It will only give you one direction (ie up OR right OR ....).

This code will likely break if the startPoint and endPoints move into negative co-ordinate space, so it would need some refinement. But the basic approach, comparing the start and end points remains the same.

@Rudy, thanks for the reply :) After some tinkering I managed to achieve what I wanted, using a similar solution to the one you posted.

You can test it here: