Problem with onHold?

lenten1111

Hi everyone,

I'm new in Phaser and start make a flying bird game. Ive already searched for my problem everywhere and read examples, still have no clue. My question about onhold on screen, i dont want people keep tapping on screen to get the bird fly. I want the bird fly when people hold finger on screen, and the bird fall when stop hold screen. Here my code:

function create() {
        game.physics.startSystem(Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);
        // When all assets are loaded, go to the 'menu' state
        bird = game.add.sprite(100, 0, 'bird');
        game.physics.enable(bird, Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);

bird.animations.add('bird');
        bird.animations.play('bird', 6, true);
        bird.body.gravity.y = 100;

game.inputEnabled = true;
        game.input.onDown.add(fly, this); // This is Working
        game.input.onHold.add(fly, this); // This is Not Working
}

function fly () {
        bird.body.velocity.y =-10;
}

Question here http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/1574-gameinputondown-question/ close mine, but i don't know how to fix!

Thanks everyone!

Thanks lewster32,

If we use it in update function i think we don't need if, but I already tried it, sill not working

function create() {
        game.physics.startSystem(Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);
        // When all assets are loaded, go to the 'menu' state
        bird = game.add.sprite(100, 0, 'bird');
        game.physics.enable(bird, Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);

bird.animations.add('bird');
        bird.animations.play('bird', 6, true);
        bird.body.gravity.y = 100;

game.input.addPointer(); // neither add this nor add
}
function update() {
        game.input.activePointer.isDown(fly, this);
}

function fly () {
        bird.body.velocity.y =-10;
}

Also use if like you said, stil not working, the bird falling down

Hi lewster32 and everybody,