Boba Jet a 2D HTML5 shooter

LudovicCluber

Hi, I'm a programmer, composer and hobbyist HTML5 game developer.

I just released my second game a few days ago.

You can play it for free here : http://bobajet.roostrjs.com

Boba Jet is a free 2D javascript / html5 canvas shooter.

Fight your way through various levels with your jetpack and your gun. Destroy all foes and travel through portals to rescue your brother.

This game was mostly about learning basics of video game programming and building a reliable and comprehensive Javascript game engine.

I'm looking for opinions on the game and joining an html5 game devs community.

ecrans2_800.jpg

post-4279-0-99989400-1372631805.jpg

Overall it's really cool. 

The amount of detail for the art is uneven.  The details on the main character and enemy sprites are extensive when compared to the background.  I want power ups (even just a charging one or full life one would be enough), and to remap the s-key to the z-key.  That would make it more standard.  maybe you were going for the letters having meaning?  I'm not sure.  I liked the song, but wanted another one for the cave, and maybe for the boss too. 

I like the smoke trail, and the shells that pop off when you shoot.  The particles from hitting an enemy, and the animation/noise when taking damage.  I like that there are times that are more clean up oriented, and others where you just need to get through an area quickly.

There are a lot of details that you worked in that make the game compelling.  I like how the bullets curve, and how it's both an asset and a detriment at times.

I got to the 2nd or 3rd cave stage.  I might attempt it again at some point, but it was a slog getting there!  You might know, but the game is really hard in places. 

I'm curious about the login/account create thing.  Maybe you could just store the user's progress in a cookie or have a distinct url for each level.

Hi fight_magic_run,

thanks you very much for your extensive review.