Loop through all tiles in a map

owen

I seem to be unable to loop through the tiles in a map using forEach.  It gets some of the way through and then falls over with an error.

Here is a simple example of what I'm attempting.  I think it should be simple but I'm a newbie so please forgive me but tell me what dumb mistake I am making.

console.log("STARTED test loop through tiles");    map.forEach(function (tile) {        console.log("Found a tile");    }, this, 0, 0, map.width, map.height, layer);    console.log("FINISHED test loop through tiles"); // does not get reached!!!
This outputs a lot of "Found a tile" lines (as expected) but then it fails to reach the end of the loop.  It dies with:

Uncaught TypeError: cannot read property 'y' of null

What am I doing wrong please?

EDIT: map.tiles.forEach seems to work a little better than map.forEach in that it completes the loop... however both methods don't give a proper reference to the tile in question.  In both cases the tile.index comes back as undefined
console.log("STARTED another test loop through tiles");map.tiles.forEach(function (tile) {       console.log("Found a tile with index="+tile.index); // shows "Found a tile with index=undefined"}, this, 0, 0, map.width, map.height, layer);console.log("FINISHED another test loop through tiles"); // DOES get reached!!!

EDIT: another interesting test reveals that the objects coming back in the loop are sets of 3 numbers comma delimited. eg "32,0,0" - what is this and how can I use it to get the tile object I want?    
console.log("STARTED yet another test loop through tiles");    map.tiles.forEach(function (tile) {        var o = tile;        console.log("Found a tile "+o); // gives something like "Found a tile 32,0,0" - what is this???    }, this, 0, 0, map.width, map.height, layer);    console.log("FINISHED yet another test loop through tiles"); // DOES get reached!!!