Technologies for a small multiplayer game

joerrey

Hey everyone,

i'm building a small idle game (like http://www.kongregate.com/games/junjo/idle-farmer) and want to include a small multiplayer part. Some kind of bonus to stat xy if connected to and playing together with a friend.

So no realtime issues or hard network stuff i think. Admittedly i have no experience with networking.

Also i thought about most of the code to run serverside to prevent cheating. So there is just visualisation and user input on the clientside.

I this a realistic goal considering server costs and programming effort? Is this even necessary?

I'm familiar with C and Matlab and also made some simple stuff with JS and Phaser. 

After reading a lot of threads i decided to move on with

- node.js and socket.io for the server and communication

- MongoDB and Mongoose for my database

Should this be working for me? There are so many alternatives. I picked those for a common reason: i don't have to learn (yet) again a new language, since i just learned JS.

On the other side, i very often read about "standard" PHP, Python, Ruby and MySQL. 

Hi @joerrey, this is exactly why I wrote eureca.io library, it's a nodejs package that make client/server communication transparent.

I wrote a tutorial on how to use it with phaser to make a simple multiplayer game http://ezelia.com/2014/09/tutorial-creating-basic-multiplayer-game-phaser-eureca-io/

but for simple client/server communication you can check my tchat tutorial on the official web site http://eureca.io/

for data storage, MongoDB is good, especially if you need to check players proximity so you only send updates to players inside a given region (MongoDB provide native 2d geographic search)

I think Mongoose is overly complicated for what you're describing, I'd go with mongoJS instead. Not a big difference, just easier to set up and use - fewer advanced features (e.g. Joins), but it doesn't sound like you'll need those.

Hey joerrey,