P2 physics constant velocity

4orbidd3n

Hello everyone,

I've been developing small games using phaser and this forums have been a great help in finding solutions for problems I've encountered along the way, so thank you all for the great community that has been developing around phaser. I'm not a good programmer so I've been learning a lot lately.

Now I've come with a problem that I'm having a hard time dealing with.

I'm using p2 as the physics engine for the game I'm currently working on, because I need to use a polygonal shape as a boundary for the level.

Here is the main idea for the game : http://jogosgalp.wiz.homedns.org/powerrefinery/game_oldsystem.html

The idea is to push the balls to the correct slot using the disc to get points.

The concept changed in the meantime because we realized that it wouldn't be fun enough to play. So we are changing the main mechanics.

We ditched the disc and the idea right now is to be able to drag any ball and throw it and allow the dragged ball to collide with the other balls that are running in the game. 
All of the balls should keep a constant velocity and when we release the dragged ball it should also keep the constant velocity instead of inherit the velocity from the mouse drag when we let it go.

The phaser examples like the breakout game covers almost all that I need but uses the arcade physics.

Here is what I've been using to test the behavior I want: http://jogosgalp.wiz.homedns.org/powerrefinery/dragtest.html

Although I can keep the velocity using a contact material for the world with the sprites, I can't find a way to nullify the exchange of force between the sprites when they collide with each other. I also need to restrict the velocity for the dragged ball on release.

After exhausting other options, I only have 2 ideas on possible solutions for this: