Setting PIXI to fullscreen?

achexi

I'm not really asking for fullscreen in a sense. I've made the mistake of creating a game at [1024,768] size with huge textures and now after compressing them with things like tinypng, adding culling etc (trying to make my game as efficient as i can) I'm still not happy with its performance which is obviously the result of texture size (things like [3000,768] per texture)

So here's my issue it would be great to hear your opinions:

I require (if possible) the game to be running at [1024,768] so would simply setting the pixi canvas to something like [640,480] (still 4:3), resizing all my textures to fit in 640 480 and scaling the screen through html be more efficient than what I have now? Would it still look anywhere near as good? If else then is there a way I can adjust the size of my game to the browsers fullscreen while maintaining my desired aspect ratio?

I'm fairly new to html5 development so any and all feedback is appreciated thanks.

sure! If youll pass the resolution to the renderer instance the textures will be rendered in smaller resolution and while doing that you can stretch the canvas to fullscreen. This will force pixi to do all the calculations with smaller textures and the browser will render them fullscreen.

pass the width and height to autoDetectRenderer and use them as a measurement for all of your assets while adding them to the stage. and than stretch the canvas fullscreen.

You can use this as a reference to get the feel http://html5hub.com/screen-size-management-in-mobile-html5-games/

http://www.sevenative.com

yeah, depends how fast you need to get your product on the market, and in case of pixel arts is not really an issue! :D

As for aspect ratio things are a little bit trickier since there is the retina apple.

I've been over so many performance issues on this forum myself.

Some quick questions:

1. Are you using sprite property.visible - true/false in your project?