[WIP] Platforming game (I'm new to HTML5 games, advice appreciated !)

mugg

Hi there,

I'm making a HTML5 platforming game. I'm really new to this sort of thing so advice I appreciated. I was asked to change this post's structure to present the game more rather than inquirying about programming problems.

What kind of game I'm making

I want my game to have a medieval feel. At night (so some rooms will be dark). The player walks through a forest and maybe later caves and a castle. The game is made up by rooms and you walk through one room, then the next and so on. I want to make this a maze and the objective will simply be to play through the rooms and trying to find the end.

The rooms will later be filled with enemies and puzzles. For enemies, I want to make sword-swinging guys and spear throwers and the like. For puzzles, they will depend on the items that I end up making. Items will just be lying on the ground throughout the game and you can pick them up and throw them or use them. For example I will make an apple item that you can eat but can also throw at a switch to open a door.

I'm adding a timer to the game so the objective will not only be to play through the game, but play through it as fast as possible trying to find better and better strategies. For that purpose I hope to add enough variety and different objects (i.e. enemies and items) that have different behavior towards each other.

Things to add

I'm doing this game at my work whenever I happen to have nothing else to do. I've been adding things to the game but it's still in a very early phase, not even 10% done. I have a TODO list that I will not bother pasting here since it's so long but it's mainly these things:

- Config and help screens