Request: A bit more advanced beginner tutorial.

IKKYU

Hi

Let me start by saying I'm a real beginner at programming, and im using Phaser to learn more javascript.

Iv'e gone thru alot of awesome tutorials from Lessmilk and Codevinsky among some. All with some different approaches.

I have also managed to create some really simple games with only 1 level in phaser.

Now i feel im missing some crucial parts that i dont understand. Like how to create new levels without copy pasting all code back into each state. It feels like i'm creating one game for each level. (I guess im doing something really wrong hehe.)

What i think  alot of people like me starting out in programming with js + phaser want to know is:

How do you separate game logic from levelspecific code? 

Also show how to separate code into different files and reuse them. (if possible)

So my request is: Can someone make a tutorial for say a really simple platformer (or any other game) with 2 players (with different spritesheets for anims etc )and explain how to break out the code for movement etc so both players can use it.(in a separate file if possible). how to add stuff like coins to collect (also in a separate file if possible.) And also how to keep track of each players score. And lastly add 2 levels and how to load new tilemap. for each level.

Preferably as simple as possible... I know its a big request and not an easy task. But its stuff like this i cant seem to find any tutorials on.

Anyone want to help? :)

Thanks.

I'll not send you a tutorial but some advices:

Consider having a file per class. For example: Player.js, Arrow.js, Ennemy.js…

Then use states: A preloader state (the very first loading), a menu state, a GameLoad state…

About levels it’s up to you to manage them. I’m personnaly working like this:

A big Javascript object (or json) that contains all information that are not common between my levels (Ennemy positions, ground position, background color, background music name...).