player position when world is taller than screen

terebentina

Hi,

I am totally new to Phaser so this might be a silly question. I have the following code, mostly copy&pasted from one of the examples. I made the world taller than the actual canvas height. 

When I add the 'dude' player to the game, it's added somewhere above the screen, instead of where it should be:

game.add.sprite(game.world.centerX, game.world.height - 10, 'dude');

The player is horizontally centered, as it should but somewhere out of the screen. If you run the code below, the player will fall and fall from somewhere off screen above and it will eventually appear after 1-2 seconds of falling.

What am I doing wrong?

var game = new Phaser.Game(800, 600, Phaser.AUTO, '', { preload: preload, create: create});function preload() {	game.load.spritesheet('dude', 'assets/img/dude.png', 32, 48);}function create() {	//  Make the world larger than the actual canvas	game.world.setBounds(0, 0, 800, 2000);	game.stage.backgroundColor = '#169AC5';	game.camera.y = game.world.height - 150;	var player = game.add.sprite(game.world.centerX, game.world.height - 10, 'dude');	player.anchor.setTo(0.5, 0.5);	//  Player physics properties. Give the little guy a slight bounce.	player.body.bounce.y = 0.2;	player.body.gravity.y = 6;	player.body.collideWorldBounds = true;}

Hi,

I have tested your code, and can confirm, there is something very weird going on.

I think you have found a bug. As far as I can tell the player sprite is placed correctly initially, but then moved by something in the engine.

Using parts of your code, removing the movement aspect.. I have found weird behavior too:

Here is my (easier to see) test, that shows something is weird, when you use collideWorldBounds AND move the camera (even if you move it from y=0 to y=0!).

If somebody wants to debug what is happening here, here is my code showing the (possible the same) bug:

Or (look at it here):

http://janpeter.net/alien/test.html