Positional audio with camera attached to parent mesh

FunFetched

Hi there! I'm relatively new to Babylon.js, but loving it so far! I'm currently developing a simple FPS, and had some issues getting the positional audio to work at first. I found FreeCamera's control scheme to be inadequate for my purposes, and decided to instead assign a parent mesh (representing the player's "head") to my camera, so it would follow along perfectly. However, the positional audio didn't work with this configuration, as I discovered that the engine uses the camera's local coordinates (always 0, 0, 0 in this case) to determine the listener's position. I changed the following line (#18730) to use the camera's globalPosition instead, and all is well.

audioEngine.audioContext.listener.setPosition(listeningCamera.globalPosition.x, listeningCamera.globalPosition.y, listeningCamera.globalPosition.z);

I would imagine that this could break some other projects, but it seems to me that there should be some kind of option to enable this behavior. Perhaps a check to see if the camera has a parent? Maybe a simple bool flag?

Hi! Thanks for your feedback.

So if I've understood correctly, you'd like to create a third-person camera, so the audio engine should update the position and orientation based on the mesh representing the head, correct?

This is an interesting use case I've never thought about before. I'm going to add an option on the scene to let you define a listening object instead to be able to set something else as the current active camera. 

In my case, it's a first-person camera, but one that is attached to the "eye" mesh by means of parenting. Here are snippets from a couple of different files so you can see what's going on:

// Setting up the player's 'actor' mesh
this.mesh = new BABYLON.AbstractMesh('player', scene);

this.bodyMesh = Meshes.body.clone('body', this.mesh);
this.bodyMesh.position.y = 0.32;
this.bodyMesh.parent = this.mesh;

// Head pivots with mouse look.