Hot reload / Fast iterative dev with typescript + webpack?

olsibob

Hello, I'm just getting started with babylon.js. I've used node on the backend before, but I'm new to using it on the frontend with webpack, it's also my first time using typescript. I'm using Visual Studio Code as my IDE.

I'm looking for tips for creating a development environment that will allow fast, iterative development. I'm aware that TypeScript involves transpiling, so perhaps it's not quite a "hot reload", but "pretty quick reload" would be great. In addition, I sometimes work offline, so everything needs to be able to run locally.

At the moment I just have a super simple scene for testing purposes, held in a single `main.ts` file. Everything builds and runs as it should, but the build process can be very slow. I have a few questions

1. In particular, the step that can take a minute or so is `92% chunk asset optimization UglifyJSPlugin`. I'm not sure what is running UglifyJS, it's not something I've specified in my build steps. Is it possible to disable it for non-production builds? (not that I've got as far as setting up anything like environment variables).
  2. Given that my `main.ts` is so simple, it feels like it must be running uglify on the whole of babylonjs. Is it possible to just transpile the files that have been changed?
  3. Is it really necessary with the webpack workflow to bundle everything into a single file? (I thought that if a user was navigating between several sites using babylonjs, the browser might cache babylonjs? Wouldn't it bundling everything into a single file block this caching)?
  4. Any other tips for speeding up builds/ creating a nice, speedy dev environment?

webpack.config.js:

const path = require('path')

module.exports = {
    entry: {
        'project': './src/main.ts'
    },
    output: {
        filename: '[name].js'
    },
    resolve: {
        extensions: ['.ts', '.tsx', '.js']
    },
    devtool: 'source-map',
    plugins: [
    ],