choosing babylonjs

jerome

Hi,

I'm very new to Babylon and have read only tutos so far.

I plan to develop 3D graphic  sysadmin tools (network weathermaps, metrology indicators, etc) in order to renew the current classic softwares usually used in this domain.

I tried to code a first network weathermap with ruby and three.js just to have a demo POC for other university sysadmins : http://logiciels.iut-rodez.fr/proto/weathermap/  (not updated with fresh data for now)

Now I know this kind of tools could be really deployed among sysadmins, I'd like to make a choice between babylonjs and threejs (I'll keep ruby server side which is a very good system language).

I really like Babylonjs so far because of its elegance and fluent API.

So here are my newbee questions before diving in the 8h video tuto to make up my mind :

(sorry for comparing to threejs in my questions but it's my only reference)

#1 : Is a Babylonjs book planned ?

I know writting a book is a huge work. Therefore a book has a something more than every tuto : it can introduce all the concepts beyond API releases. So the reader can discover all the framework capabilities at once, even those he wouldn't have be aware elseway.

I learned the little I know about threejs concepts in a book, tutos just helped me to code and find everything in the API.

However I think I could manage without a babylonjs book.

#2 : Are there embedded camera controls (like threejs trackball, fly, orbit, etc) or do I need to code them by myself (tuto or snippet) ? 

I couldn't find the equivalent in the API. 

#3 : Is there some kind of buffer geometry optimization for fixed geometries ?

not so important to me however.

#4 : dynamic text

This is the most important point to me.

Displaying time updated measure data, metrics, indicators in a 3D environment is the main goal of my code.