Building Model Glassy/X Ray look

Ruprect99

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post and I'm new to babylon.js.

I'm trying to develop a proof of concept for a building modelling tool, so I've knocked up a model in sketchup and exported it using blender to a babylon js file.

I'm hoping to get a kind of glassy x-ray effect a like you can see here:

http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-image-house-3d-rendered-blue-image16320661

So far I've managed just by setting the alpha channel to get what you can see in the picture, but it is somewhat lacking!!

What do I need to make it really pop out and look like the provided link? more detail around the doors/ windows would help, but I seem to be missing outlines and that glassy look.

Also just setting it to wireframe looked quite good, but the large expanses like the roof lack definition. I guess to get a good representation in wireframe mode I would need to split the large expanses up into smaller areas?

Any thoughts or ideas would be most welcome.

Thanks very much

post-15781-0-71818000-1438685341_thumb.p

Hi, Thanks for the reply,

I downloaded the shader from the supplied and added it to my project and the results are a bit odd.

it now looks like a mostly white building with a few surfaces picked out in grey (see attached scene shot).

this makes me think that there might be something wrong with my model (also attached, rename to LittleHouse.babylon)

I've tried different forms of lighting, setting the alpha on the material (this seems to have no effect). 

Any ideas?

Thanks

post-15781-0-27625800-1438764666.png

LittleHouse.txt

I've been think about the way fresnel shading works and I don't think it will work well for this model, as it doesn't have enough curved surfaces to create the desired effect. You can see this if you replace the spheres in the playground demo with planes, you loose the outline effect.