Online Spaceship Math Game

jgordon510

Hey Everybody,

I'm a 4th grade teacher who writes educational software for my students.

I wanted a free alternative to the many expensive adaptive computer math courses available to students.  I built a flexible math activity system based on interactive manipulatives that would load with different values every time.  Then I built over 200 over those activities, representing the breadth of a 4th grade curriculum.  Then I designed an adaptive algorithm to guide students through the applets based on their performance.

Then it was time for the "fun" part.  I wanted to create an incentive structure for the software, so I designed a turn-based spaceship battle game, framed in a text adventure, in which the player, a sentient ship, protects an isolated space station from marauding aliens.

The game is still a work in project, but the current version shows its potential, I think:

https://mages.firebaseapp.com/

post-13754-0-99041800-1444617521.png

post-13754-0-47470700-1444617544.png

post-13754-0-26909000-1444617572.png

post-13754-0-42644900-1444617621.png

post-13754-0-17220600-1444617642.png

post-13754-0-14302800-1444617691.png

post-13754-0-79993900-1444617912.png

post-13754-0-77246200-1444618268.png

post-13754-0-13603700-1444619232.png

I notice you have to sign in using a Google ID and consent to revealing basic information to the site, given this is aimed at children under the age of 12 is it COPPA compliant?

(I didn't bother signing in so that ended my testing)

I'm using Firebase for the authorization, so I can add other methods.

Google authorization for educational programs online has become pretty standard (newsELA uses it, for example).  All of my students have google accounts (without the gmail part) through the district, and we generally prefer to use that authorization scheme over remembering another password.