screen coordinates vs. world coordinates

waechtertroll

Hello,

I'm quite new to pixi, so I'm wondering about the following: how can I specify the game world size independent of the screen container size?

E. g. I want to transform my 20x16 tiles game from manual canvas drawing and scaling to pixi, for ultimate awesomeness ;-) and of course the screen container should be bigger than 20x16 pixels. How can I specify this?

And, in addition, how can I specify sprite size in world units, not pixels?

That's not the best idea. When I was making canvas2d game, I started with that kind of coordinates, but in the end i changed everything that way world unit became pixel unit.

Anyway, in pixi you whave to scale both the stage and sprites to achieve that:

var stage = new PIXI.Container();
stage.scale.set(renderer.width / 20, renderer.height/16);

var tile = new PIXI.Sprite(tileTexture);
tile.scale.set(1.0 / stage.scale.x, 1.0 / stage.scale.y);
stage.addChild(tile);

//new coords for tile in world units
tile.position.x = 5;
tile.position.y = 4;

Thanks for your reply and the code example. Can you tell me why that is a bad idea? I feel that if I don't do so, my whole world, view, and game experience depend on screen resolution.

I admit, I have mostly developed for desktop and web browsers, not thinking much about mobile users.

Ok, the thing is that you already have sizes for your sprites, and they are in pixels, Thus, your world unit must be the same as sprite pixel. For different resolutions you can scale all stage that way it either fits either covers either stretches your game field. To do that you have to implement some logic that changes "stage.scale" the way you want. 

What I said is that choosing world unit "1 per tile" is not a good idea, because you'll have to scale all the sprites too :) If tile size is 32x32 then all sprites will have to be scaled 32x.