Issue with Layer.setScale or me?

m7_b5

Hey guys, I'm trying to build a top down style game using a tilemap made in Tiled using 64 x 64 size tilemap (100 tiles x 100 tiles).  I want to scale it down to 32 x 32 sized tiles and then scale my sprites depending on the device.  In any case, just using layer.setScale(.5) on each layer of the map seems to actually work, except, some other funky results happen.  I am fairly new to phaser so I wanted to see if anyone had a thought on what I might be doing wrong here.  What ends up happening is that the tiles do indeed resize and don't look horrible.  The camera & canvas has stayed the same size.  However, the area where the tiles are actually drawn was also reduced by .5.  See screen shot (please don't laugh at my lame hand made graphics lol)

THe desire is to have it all 32 x 32 just automatically scaled while preserving the display size.  Here's the code:

In preload

game.load.tilemap('Level1', 'img/Tiles/Level1.json', null, Phaser.Tilemap.TILED_JSON);

game.load.image('Level1Tiles', 'img/Tiles/Level1Tiles.png');

Here is where I init the map

function initTileMap()
    {
         map = game.add.tilemap('Level1');
         map.addTilesetImage('Level1Tiles', 'Level1Tiles');

var walls =  map.createLayer('Walls');
        walls.setScale(.5);

collisionLayer = map.createLayer('Collision');
        collisionLayer.setScale(.5);

collisionLayer.visible = false;
        map.setCollisionByExclusion([], true, collisionLayer);
        collisionLayer.resizeWorld();

var stuffLayer = map.createLayer('Stuff');
         stuffLayer.setScale(.5);

map.tileHeight = 32;
         map.tileWidth = 32;
    }

The last two lines there were just trying to fix the bug.  I noticed when looking at the objects in memory that those didn't get changed with the modification of the layers.

Any thoughts on this?  

Thanks

layer scale error screen shot.png