Enable Physics vs collisionsEnabled?

Javierl

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to BabylonJS and to building games in general. I've read lots of resources and tried lots of things and I still don't quite know what I'm doing, to be honest but I've stumbled upon this noob question, hopefully is an easy one, even though it's not so obvious for me.

So, I'm trying to build a game in which there is a character that can move around the scene. I've got a friend that is creating cool buildings with Solid Works and exporting them to STL. Managed to import them (not with pain) to BabylonJS, but then got in a bit of trouble making the character "interact" with the building (ie, a castle, I've imported it as a Mesh, should I import it as scene? by the way? what would be the difference?).

Anyway, first of all, I understood that you have "two ways" of dealing with this, either using physics, or collisions. I tried first with "collisionsEnabled" and "moveWithCollisions", and I almost managed to achieve what I was looking for. My character could move and would collision with the castle, I could get in through a whole (door), and all fine. The issue comes when there are stairs or a ramp, I haven't managed to get the character walk through them. I did a lot of research and came up with the conclusion (please tell me if I'm wrong) that using moveWithCollisions wouldn't work for my purpose as without using Physics, Babylon doesn't distinguish between a wall or a stair/ramp, it's all a collision and hence the character cannot keep walking.  Please tell me if I'm wrong with any of this.